It is required by Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 602.010) that every person doing business in the state of Nevada under an assumed or fictitious name that is different from the legal name of each person who owns an interest in the business must file with the County Clerk of each county in which the business is being conducted a certificate containing the information required by the above Nevada Revised Statute. The filing of a fictitious firm name does not give exclusive rights to the use of that name. An FFN filing is also required by the Business License office before issuing a business license under a fictitious name. A person doing business in this state without complying with the requirements of this chapter or having falsely filed a certificate of termination is guilty of a misdemeanor (NRS 602.090). Each individual business name must have a separate filing. Multiple fictitious names cannot be included on a single certificate.
Forms must be properly completed and signed prior to being presented for filing. Filings, changes, terminations and renewals may be submitted during regular business hours at any of our locations. Alternately, filings, renewals, changes and terminations may be submitted by mail to the mailing address listed below.
To view and download forms, you must have Adobe Reader:
Certificate of Business: Fictitious Firm Name
To file for a new fictitious firm name (DBA) or renew an existing name.
Name/Address Change to Certificate of Business
This form is used for an address change of the business or to change an existing owner's name (due to marriage, divorce, owner's legal name change). For a change to the owner's legal name, proof of name change is required. Do not use this form to change the name of the business.
Termination of Certificate of Business: Fictitious Firm Name
To terminate an individual owner or an entire business. If you are changing the name of an existing FFN, file a Termination of Certificate for the old name. Then, complete and file a Certificate of Business: Fictitious Firm name for the new name.
Clark County Code 7.24 requires that fictitious firm names be renewed every five years. Reminder notices will be sent to the most recent mailing address on file with our office approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date.
A search of the records is advised prior to filing. A search can be done in person at any of our locations listed on our home page. To search records online, please use the Records Search menu to the left and choose Fictitious Name Search. Information associated with Fictitious Firm Name certificates filed from 1986 through the present is available online. Images of certificates on file are available for viewing at any of our locations. The fee to order a filed copy is $1.00 for a plain copy or $7.00 for a certified copy.
Filing fees must be paid by cash, check, money order or major credit card. Checks and money orders are made payable to the County Clerk. If paying with a major credit card, you must appear in person at one of our locations. Our office does not have online ordering. There is an additional $5.00 service fee when paying by credit card. Debit cards are not accepted unless they are linked to a credit card.
New filing or renewal $20.00
Please see our Fees page for information on our check acceptance policies.
Note: NRS Chapter 19 requires that we charge fees for copies and a records search. A number of requests for copies of records are received through the mail, and frequently customers will pay more than what is required by statute. Overpayments of $10 or less will not be refunded by this office except upon specific request of the customer. Requests for refund of overpayment must be submitted in writing within 60 days of receipt date and include the receipt number.
Clark County Clerk's Office
P O Box 551604
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1604
For shipping services other than U.S. Mail
Clark County Clerk's Office
Regional Justice Center, 5th Fl.
200 Lewis Avenue
Las Vegas, NV 89101