The performance of marriages is a serious responsibility. Before applying to become a Marriage Officiant, it is imperative that you read, understand and are capable of fulfilling the Legal Requirements in the performance of marriages. It is the County Clerk's responsibility to ensure that individuals who perform marriages carry out this duty responsibly, and process vital documents according to state law.
Who Can Apply?
Certificate of Permission is required to perform a marriage ceremony in the State of Nevada (refer to the Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 122). Permission can be granted in two ways:
Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages - provides the ability to perform marriages without limitation, provided the applicant is authorized by a church or religious organization that is incorporated, organized or established in Nevada (see current approved list of organizations) and certain other requirements are met. Individuals who can apply for this type of certificate include the following:
Certificate of Permission to Perform a Single Marriage - provides the ability to only perform one specific marriage ceremony (a maximum of 5 per year). This certificate must be obtained from the County Clerk of the county in which the ceremony will take place. Individuals who may apply for this type of certificate include the following:
- Minister or other church or religious official (active or retired) authorized to solemnize marriages in good standing with his or her church or religious organization (click here to download application).
Temporary replacement of a minister or other church or religious official already holding a
Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages for a period not to exceed 90 days (click here to download application).
A Notary Public in good standing with the Nevada Secretary of State (pursuant to N.R.S.
Chapter 240) (click here to download application).
Any Chaplain who is assigned to duty in the State of Nevada by the Armed Forces of the United States. Permission must be obtained from the County Clerk of the county in which his or her duty station is located (click here to download application).
>> PLEASE NOTE: Starting January 1, 2018, all applicants seeking to become an Officiant will be required to attend a mandatory training class (this is not required for an applicant seeking to obtain a Certificate of Permission to Perform a Single Marriage). Once the training class has been successfully completed, the applicant will be presented with the Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages and an official Officiant ID card. Upon the review and approval of an Officiant application, you will be notified to attend one of these classes. Classes will be held the 1st (at 9 a.m.) and 3rd (at 3 p.m.) Wednesday of every month starting in January, and the class may last up to an hour and a half depending on the number of attendees. Classes will not be held on certain holidays and are subject to be scheduled on different days and/or times. A schedule of upcoming classes can be found on the Training Schedule page.
How to Apply?
Download the appropriate application packet - do NOT obtain your application paperwork elsewhere or you may be instructed to reapply using our forms;
Complete all required forms - incomplete forms will delay processing and may result in the denial of your application;
Submit the application packet with all required documentation and the non-refundable $25 processing fee within the time period specified; and
If required, complete the online background check application as instructed once your application is received, reviewed, and approved for processing. Correspondence will be sent informing you how to complete this process.