Each Calendar Year, a Request Is Required (With Certain Limited Exceptions)
You will NOT automatically receive a mail ballot unless you request one
EACH CALENDAR YEAR in writing. The exception is if you have disabilities or are age 65 or older.
During an election, you may see your mail/absentee ballot status online.
Registered Voter Services and select "Get Current Election Information" from the dropdown menu.
Persons with Disabilities or Over the Age of 65
SB447 of the 2017 Nevada State legislative session now allows persons with disabilities or who are 65 years of age or older to make a special request for a mail/absentee ballot for all future elections, thus eliminating the need for an annual request.
Handwritten Signature Required
Nevada law requires your request to contain your HANDWRITTEN SIGNATURE. E-mail and telephone requests
cannot be accepted. If you cannot sign your name because of a physical disability, call (702) 455-6552 for instructions.
Delivery to Voters
In Federal/State Elections, delivery of mail/absentee nallots
BEGINS 20 days before
Election Day for in-state voters and 40-45 days before
Election Day for out-of-state voters.
What Is Mail/Absentee Ballot Voting
Mail ballots accommodate voters who cannot or do not wish to vote in-person during early voting or on Election Day. After the request is processed, the voter will be sent mail/absentee ballot voting materials, including a paper ballot and voting instructions
Who May Vote by Mail
Any Voter, Any Reason
Any registered voter, for any reason, may request a mail/absentee ballot. The request must be in
WRITING and contain your handwritten signature.
First-Time Voters May Be Required to Present I.D. When They Vote
You may be required to present I.D. for voting if: (a) The data you provided on your voter registration application did not match the data on file at the Department of Motor Vehicles or Social Security Administration, as applicable;
and (b) You did not respond to the letter that was sent to you notifying you of the discrepancy.
Acceptable forms of I.D. include: (a) Current and valid
Nevada Driver's License or State I.D. Card(driver's licenses and I.D. cards from other states are NOT acceptable); or (b)
Other current and valid identifying document, such as a utility bill, bank statement, paycheck or document issued by a government entity such as a check with your name and residential address.
If you do not include a copy of your I.D. with your mail/absentee ballot request, you may still submit it along with your voted mail/absentee ballot, inside the official return envelope.
In Federal/State elections, if you still do not provide a copy of your I.D. along with your voted mail/absentee ballot, your ballot will become a
provisional ballot. Only your choices for federal offices, e.g., U.S. Senate and Congress, may be counted
AND only if you submit a copy of your I.D. to the
Election Department by 5:00 p.m. on the Friday after
If you never provide required I.D., your ballot will not be counted.
When to Submit a Request
Each Calendar Year (If You Do Not Have Disabilities or You Are Under Age 65)
You must submit a properly completed mail/absentee ballot request to the
Election Department each calendar year in order to vote by mail that year. Nevada allows permanent mail/absentee ballot status only for persons with disabilities or those who are age 65 or older and only when they make a special request for this status. In all cases, you should submit your request no later than the mail/absentee ballot request
deadline, i.e., the
Election Department must receive your request on or before 5:00 p.m. on the Tuesday before
Certain exceptions apply to military and overseas voters.
Where to Get a Request Form
The Election Department
A printable request form is available by logging-in to
Registered Voter Services and selecting
Request a Mail/Absentee Ballot from the dropdown menu.
Call (702) 455-6552 to have a Mail/Absentee Ballot Request Card sent to you.
Write Your Own Letter If You Do Not Have A Printer
Follow the letter writing directions.
How to Submit a Request
After properly completing your written request, mail, fax ((702) 455-2831), or hand deliver it to the
Election Department by the
deadline. You may also send an e-mail to
MailBallotRequest@ClarkCountyNV.gov with the scanned request containing your handwritten signature as an attachment.
When to Expect Your Mail/Absentee Ballot
In Federal/State Elections (even-numbered years), delivery of Mail/Absentee Ballots begins 20 days before
Election Day for in-state voters and 40-45 days before
Election Day for out-of-state voters. If you request a mail/absentee ballot and do not receive it at least 10 days before
Election Day, IMMEDIATELY call (702) 455-6552. Do not delay as abbreviated timeframes make it difficult to receive, vote, and return a mail/absentee ballot by 7:00 p.m. on
How to Vote a Mail/Absentee Ballot
Follow the Voting Instructions
Carefully read and follow the instructions included with your mail/absentee ballot. Return your voted mail/absentee ballot in the envelope provided for that purpose, whether you mail it or deliver it in-person. You must also personally sign the outside of that envelope.
Accommodations are available for persons who cannot sign their name or mark their ballot because of a disability.
When and How to Return a Voted Mail/Absentee Ballot
Due Date and Time
Election Department must RECEIVE your voted mail/absentee ballot by 7:00 p.m. on
Election Day in order for your ballot to be counted.
How to Send or Personally Deliver Your Voted Mail/Absentee Ballot
Use the pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope provided to you to mail your voted mail/absentee ballot. Make sure you sign the outside of the envelope.
You may deliver your voted mail/absentee ballot in-person. It must be inside of the envelope provided and you must sign the outside of the envelope. The conditions below also apply:
Who May Drop-Off Your Voted Mail Ballot
Only the voter who requested the mail/absentee ballot or a family member may return the voted mail/absentee ballot. If a family member returns it, he/she must sign a statement confirming he/she is a member of the voter’s family. Call (702) 455-6552 for more information.
Where to Drop-Off Your Voted Mail Ballot
You may drop-off your voted mail/absentee ballot at the
Election Department or other designated site only, NOT at an early voting site or Election Day Vote Center. Per Nevada law, early voting sites and Election Day Vote Centers cannot accept a voted mail/absentee ballot.
Voting In-Person Instead of by Mail
If you requested a Mail/Absentee Ballot, you still have the option of voting on an electronic voting machine at an
early voting site or Election Day Vote Center.
You will need to do one of the following when you vote in-person instead of by mail:
If You Have Your Mail Ballot
Surrender your voted or unvoted Mail/Absentee Ballot (preferably in the packet sent to you) to an election official at the voting site. The official will ask you for identification and then process you to vote.
If You Do Not Have Your Mail Ballot
You will sign an affirmation at the voting site swearing that you have not already voted in the current election and that you understand no one may to attempt to vote or actually vote more than once in the same election. An election official will verify your affirmation against Election Department records.
Military and Overseas Residents
Registering and/or Voting by Mail
Please see our web page for
military and overseas voters.
Fraudulently Requesting a Mail/Absentee Ballot
It is a felony for a person to fraudulently request a Mail/Absentee Ballot in the name of another person or to induce or coerce another person to fraudulently request a Mail/Absentee Ballot in the name of another person.
Voting More than Once
It is a felony for an eligible voter to vote or attempt to vote more than once in the same election.
It is a felony to bribe, offer a bribe, or use any other corrupt means, directly or indirectly, to influence any voter in giving his vote or to deter him/her from giving it.