Contact: Erik Pappa
Phone: (702) 455-3548

County Commissioners to be Sworn in, Chairman & Vice Chairman to be Selected

​       Three Clark County commissioners who won election in November will be sworn into office at the start of the board meeting at 9 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 7 by District Court Judge Elizabeth Gonzalez.

       The commissioners being sworn in are (1) Tick Segerblom, District E, who replaces Chris Giunchigliani, who was termed out after 12 years on the board; (2) Justin Jones, District F, who replaces Susan Brager, who was also termed out after 12 years; and (3) Jim Gibson, who won election in November after having served since July 2017 to fill the unexpired term of his predecessor. Commissioner Steve Sisolak, who won election as governor, is expected to name his replacement in District A once he occupies the Governor's Mansion.

       The seven-member County Commission also will select a chairman and vice chairman at its Jan. 7 meeting.  

       Commissioners sit as the board for various other entities and will name their representatives for those, as well, including the Las Vegas Valley Water District and University Medical Center of Southern Nevada (UMC).

       They also will name representatives to various other non-County boards, such as the Las Vegas Convention and Visitor's Authority, the Southern Nevada Health District board, the Regional Transportation Commission, the Regional Flood Control District and the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department Committee on Fiscal Affairs.

      "I look forward to working with my fellow commissioners and our incredible County employees to make Clark County safe, prosperous and a great place to live," said Segerblom.

       "I am humbled by the opportunity I have been given to serve with my colleagues," said Jones, "and will work hard every day to make Clark County the very best place to live, work and raise a family."

       "I am excited to continue working on the challenges facing Clark County and I look forward to doing that with our new Commission members," said Gibson.

       The seven members of the Commission govern the County and are elected from geographic districts on a partisan basis for staggered four-year terms. The Commission in turn hires a county manager, Yolanda King, who is responsible for the administrative operations for the County.

       With jurisdiction over the world-famous Las Vegas Strip and covering an area the size of New Jersey, Clark is the nation's 14th-largest county and provides extensive regional services to 2.25 million residents and 45.5 million visitors a year. Included are the nation's 8th-busiest airport, air quality compliance, social services and the state's largest public hospital, UMC. The County also provides municipal services – such as fire protection, roads and other public works, parks and recreation, and planning and development – that are traditionally provided by cities to 1 million residents in the unincorporated area. If the unincorporated area of the County were a city, it would be the largest in the state, surpassing Nevada's largest city of Las Vegas by 50 percent.

       Like all County Commission meetings, this one will be aired live on Clark County Television, which is available in the Las Vegas area on Channel 4/1004 on Cox cable and on CenturyLink on Channels 4 and 1004 as well as in Laughlin on Channel 14 via Suddenlink. It also will be streamed live at and CCTV is also available in Boulder City on Channel 4 and in Moapa Valley on Digital Channel 50.3.


Last modified on 1/15/2019 10:57