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Step UP Guidelines 
Welcome Step Up Participant! 

 
 
Clark County Social Service has been chosen to operate the Nevada State initiative 
commonly known as FAFFY.  FAFFY stands for Funds to Assist Former Foster Youth 
and is funded by the State Division of Child and Family Services under Nevada Revised 
Statute 432.017. In Clark County, the FAFFY program is called “Step Up.” Step Up is 
overseen by the Department of Family Services to assist current and former foster youth 
in their transition to adulthood. 
 
To qualify, you must be at least 17 years old and under the wardship of a Nevada public 
child welfare agency, or have “aged out” of Nevada Child Welfare at 18 or older (up to 
age 21). We can assist you with the purchase of goods and services until your 21st 
birthday. All funding is to be used as requested and is not to be used for the purchase of 
alcohol or tobacco products nor any other illegal activity. Such action may result in 
termination or suspension of funding from the program.  
 
 Requests take up to seven (7) business days to process, but exceptions can be made in an 
emergency. All requests made require supporting documentation. Acceptable forms of 
documentation are a bill, invoice or receipt for reimbursement. For example, if you would 
like to request funds for a computer, print out the model of computer you would like to 
purchase, or request an invoice from the store where you would like to purchase the 
computer. Attach the supporting information to your request. The check will be made to 
the store or vendor where you are purchasing the item. If you need assistance gathering 
the needed verifications, your assigned Step Up case manager will be happy to assist you.  
 
Graduation/GED/Certificate of Completion Stipend (available to current and 
former foster youth):  
You are eligible to access a one-time educational stipend of $1,000.00 upon graduation or 
completion of high school with a regular or adjusted diploma with proof of expenditures 
or need. You are similarly eligible to access $250.00 for obtaining your General 
Equivalency Diploma (GED). Any GED graduate who later goes on to obtain their 
regular education or adjusted diploma, before their 21st birthday, then be able to receive 
the additional $750.00. 
 
You may receive this stipend in increments of up to $250.00, and you will be required to 
provide receipts for how you spent the funds before requesting additional funds. If you 
would like to request funds over $250.00, you need to provide proof of what you are 
purchasing with the funds. 
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Life Skills Courses/Funding for Step-Up Youth:   
In order to support your commitment to learning, saving, and investing in your future, the 
Step Up program will provide opportunities for you to learn and earn at the same time!  
At various times throughout the year, we will provide opportunities for you to participate 
in life skills courses and earn a financial credit payable at the end of the 6 or 12 month-
long program. The courses will focus on money management, identifying career and 
educational goals, household management, etiquette, and other topics of interest. 
 
Personal Needs Services & Funds (available to former foster youth ONLY):  
Additional funds may be available for you to use for goods and services that will assist 
you in living independently. These funds include but are not limited to the following 
examples: 
• Housing assistance 
• Job training 
• Vocational services 
• Medical and dental assistance 
• Educational assistance 
• Services to reduce high risk behaviors 
• Mental health services 
• Transportation 
• Child care and parenting needs 
• Personal care and professional development (clothing, personal items, etc.) 
• Utilities 
 
Self Sufficiency Start Up Personal Stipend (available to former foster youth ONLY): 
You are eligible to receive a one-time personal stipend of $1,000.00 after exiting foster 
care and up until your 21st birthday. You may receive this stipend in increments of up to 
$250.00, and you will be required to provide receipts for how you spent these funds. If 
you would like to request an amount over $250.00, you will need to provide proof of how 
the funds will be spent. All funds approved must be connected to obtaining self-
sufficiency. 
 
Move In Fees/Deposits (available to current and former foster youth):  
A one time allowance up to $1,000.00 is available for fees and deposits associated with 
moving into a new housing arrangement. The list of move-in fees must be in writing from 
the landlord where you plan to rent. The sheet must also include a planned move-in date.  
 
Rental Assistance (available to former foster youth ONLY):  
You are eligible to receive rental assistance for the current amount of your rent, up to 
$773.00, as long as you are in school and/or working a minimum of 20 hours per week.* 
Situations involving illness, injury, pregnancy, and other emergencies will be reviewed 
on a case-by-case basis to determine eligibility and exemption from this requirement. 
*Subject to availability of funds in any given program year. 
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To qualify for ongoing rent you must provide: 
 
1.) Copy of your current pay stub, showing you have worked a minimum of 20 hours per 

week. 
OR 

2.) Proof you have obtained employment of at least 20 Hours per week. 
OR 

3) Current print out of your school schedule and proof of attendance showing: 
 a. A minimum of 9 credits (college or vocational school); 

OR 
 b. Attendance in a GED class at least 20 hours per week; 

OR 
 c. Or a combination of both work and/or school totaling 20 hours per week; 

OR 
d. Documentation from a medical professional stating that you are unable to work 

or go to school due to a physical or mental disability. This will be reviewed on a 
case-by-case basis.  

             AND 
e. Proof you have completed school and received credits each semester. 
 

AND 
4.) Any other items requested and agreed upon in your individualized case plan. 
 
 
 
 
You will be asked to provide and complete the following documents upon your 
initial request for financial assistance: 
 
1.) You must fill out a tax-exempt W-9 form before requesting any financial assistance, 

AND 
2.) Provide the following documentation from your landlord: 

• Lease/rental agreement (notarized if landlord is a private party, not a business), 
• W-9 filled out by landlord, and 
• Proof of the landlord’s home ownership or approval from the homeowner for the 

landlord to sublease. The homeowners contact information must be provided in 
either situation. 


