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Step Up Guidelines

Clark County Social Service operates the Funds to Assist Former Foster Youth (FAFFY) program in Clark
County. The FAFFY program is funded by the State of Nevada under the Nevada Revised Statute 432.017
“Account to Assist Persons Formerly in Foster Care”. In Clark County the FAFFY program is called “Step
Up” and our goal is to assist you to make the transition from foster care to economic self-sufficiency. To
qualify, you need to have attained the age of 18 years while a child in foster care in Nevada. This means
you “aged out” of foster care (not adopted by the time you reached 18 years old).

We can assist you to attain economic self-sufficiency by providing you with certain goods and services
including (but not limited to) case management, housing assistance, employment assistance,
educational assistance, transportation assistance, and other services such as referrals.

Financial requests can take seven (7) to ten (10) business days to process, but exceptions can be
considered in an emergency. All requests require supporting documentation to be attached. Acceptable
forms of supporting documentation are a bill, invoice or receipt for reimbursement. If you need
assistance gathering the needed supporting documentation please ask your case manager. Below are
the types of financial requests that are available from Step Up.

EDUCATIONAL STIPEND

Available to both FAFFY and Voluntary Jurisdiction Program Participants

You are eligible to access a one-time educational stipend of $1,000.00 upon graduation or completion of
high school with a regular or adjusted diploma. You are similarly eligible to access $250.00 for obtaining
your High School Equivalency Diploma (GED/HISET). Any GED/HISET graduate who later goes on to
obtain their regular or adjusted high school diploma, before their 21* birthday, will be eligible to receive
the additional $750.00 of the educational stipend. You must include a copy of your diploma and you
must state on the financial request form that you submit your plan outlining how you will spend the
educational stipend.

PERSONAL SELF-SUFFICIENCY STIPEND

Available to only FAFFY Program Participants

You are eligible to receive a personal self-sufficiency stipend of up to $1,000.00 after exiting foster care
at age 18 (up until your 21%* birthday). You may receive this stipend in increments during your
participation in the program. You will be required to provide receipts for how you spent these funds
within thirty (30) days of the date the stipend was issued to you. Failure to provide receipts may lead to
a denial of any future personal self-sufficiency stipend requests you make until the missing receipts are
submitted. All funds approved must be related to obtaining self-sufficiency (goods and services that will
assist you in living independently). You must state on the financial request form that you submit your
plan outlining how you will spend the personal self-sufficiency stipend.
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MOVE-IN FEES/DEPOSITS

Available to both FAFFY and Voluntary Jurisdiction Program Participants

A one-time allowance up to $1,000.00 is available for move-in fees and deposits that are associated with
your lease/rental agreement. For the $1,000.00 move-in fees and deposits, the amount that will be paid
out is based on the actual move-in fees and deposits that are stated on your official lease/rental
agreement (up to $1,000.00). Any leftover balance is paid directly to you for move-in purchases (such as
furniture, household goods, utility bill, etc.). You must state on the financial request form that you
submit your plan outlining how you will spend any leftover balance. A copy of your signed lease/rental
agreement needs to be included with the financial request form.

If you are requesting reimbursement for move-in fees and deposits that you have already paid, you will
need to include receipts along with the copy of your signed lease/rental agreement as proof in order for
the reimbursement to be approved.

RENTAL ASSISTANCE

Available to only FAFFY Program Participants

You are eligible to receive ongoing rental assistance based on the current amount of your rent, up to
$773.00 (subject to availability of funds in any given program year), as long as you are in school and/or
working a minimum of 20 hours per week as outlined below. Rental assistance will be “vendor paid”
meaning your rental amount will be paid directly to your landlord. Your landlord will have to complete
an IRS W-9 form in order for Step Up to vendor pay your rent to them. Situations involving illness, injury,
pregnancy, and other emergencies will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis to determine eligibility and
exemption from this requirement. Any balance of the $773.00 that may remain after your rent amount
is paid to your landlord will be paid directly to you for the purposes of the payment of utilities and
necessary living expenses. The payment of utilities may include: power, gas, water, cable, garbage,
internet, telephone, sewage, and other such expenses.

To qualify for ongoing rental assistance you must provide on a monthly basis:

1.) Copy of your current pay stub, showing you have worked a minimum of 20 hours per week.
OR
2.) Proof you have obtained employment of at least 20 Hours per week.
OR
3.) Current print out of your school schedule and proof of attendance showing:
a. A minimum of 6 credits (college or vocational school);
OR
b. Attendance in a GED/HISET class at least 20 hours per week;
OR
4.) Or a combination of both work and/or school totaling 20 hours per week;
OR
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5.) Documentation from a medical professional stating that you are unable to work or go to school due
to a physical or mental disability. This will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

AND
6.) Proof that you are working toward any other items requested and agreed upon in your individualized
case plan.

You will be asked to provide and complete the following documents upon your initial request for
financial assistance:

1.) You must fill out a tax-exempt IRS W-9 form before requesting any financial assistance,
AND
2.) Provide the following documentation from your landlord:
e Lease/rental agreement,
e |IRS W-9 form filled out by landlord, and
e Proof of the landlord’s home ownership or approval from the homeowner for the landlord to
sublease. The homeowners contact information must be provided in either situation.

MONTLY BUS PASS

Available to only FAFFY Program Participants

You are eligible to receive one (1) monthly bus pass from Step Up each month to help you with
transportation. Monthly bus passes are intended for your use only. You may visit your case manager no
earlier than three (3) business days before the expiration date printed on your monthly bus pass in order
to receive a new one. If you need a monthly bus pass sooner than three (3) business days prior to its
expiration you must make contact with your case manager for approval. If you lose your current
monthly bus pass it will not be replaced until three (3) business days prior to its expiration date (as
stated above). If you want a new replacement monthly pass in the meantime, Step Up will provide this
but the current value of the monthly bus pass will be deducted from your PERSONAL SELF-SUFFICIENCY
STIPEND.

PLEASE REVIEW EACH STATEMENT BELOW

(initial) | understand that | must make contact with my case manager at least once every 30
days via text, phone call, email, or in person meeting(s). | understand that | need to submit monthly
proof of work and/or school to receive ongoing rental and/or financial assistance.

(initial) | understand that if 90 days of no contact occurs | may be automatically moved to an
“inactive” Step Up program participant status. | understand that if my status is “inactive” | will need to
make contact with my case manager so that | may return to an “active” status in the Step Up program.
If  am “inactive” | may not receive ongoing rental and/or financial assistance.

(initial) | understand that | must sign each financial request form prior to receiving the resource.
| agree to Step Up paying mutually agreed upon vendors for utilities and other necessities directly
(known as “vendor pay”).
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(initial) For ongoing rental assistance only, | understand that | must sign the first month’s rental
request form. However, for future monthly rental request forms | give consent for my case manager to
sign “ongoing” on my behalf. This allows my rent to continue to be paid without the need for me to
directly sign the rental request form each month. My case manager is allowed to sign “ongoing” on my
behalf for the length of my lease/rental agreement only. If | choose, | may also sign my monthly rental
requests directly in person.

Date:

Printed Name of Young Adult Signature of Young Adult

Date:

Printed Name of Staff Member Signature of Staff Member
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