WHAT IS THE “HOMESTEAD ACT?”

Nevada law protects and exempts your “homestead”
(dwelling place or manufactured home) against
attachment of your property, up to the amount of
$550,000 of your home equity, in the event you
should suffer a personal financial disaster.

To be eligible for this protection, you must obtain
and fill out the Homestead Declaration Form. Aform
can be downloaded from the Assessor’s website:
www.ClarkCountyNV.gov/assessor. For  further
information regarding the Declaration of
Homestead, please call our Customer Service
representatives at (702) 455-3882.

Dear Taxpayer:

The information in this brochure is designed to give
you, the taxpayer, a basic idea of the duties of
your County Assessor.

It has always been my belief that you, the
taxpayer, have the right to know how your
government functions. If you have further
questions about Nevada’s tax structure, or the laws
that govern it, please contact our office at (702)
455-3882.

Sincerely,

BRIANA JOHNSON
Clark County Assessor

MAIN OFFICE

CLARK COUNTY ASSESSOR
500 S Grand Central Pky 2nd F1
Las Vegas NV 89155
(702) 455-3882

Hours: 8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday

NORTHWEST OFFICE

Dofia Maria Plaza
3211 N Tenaya Way Suite 118
Las Vegas NV 89129
(702) 455-3882

Hours: 8:00 a.m. — 12:00 noon
1:00 p.m. — 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Thursday
(Closed Friday)

HENDERSON OFFICE

Henderson City Hall
240 Water St 1st Fl
Henderson NV 89015
(702) 455-3882

Hours: 8:00 a.m. — 12:00 noon
1:00 p.m. — 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Thursday
(Closed Friday)

COMMUNICATION DEVICES

FOR THE DEAF

TTY Relay Service:
Dial 711

Rev. 2/2020

 PROPERTY OWNER
~ INFORMATION

BRIANA JOHNSON

CLARK COUNTY ASSESSOR

www.ClarkCountyN V.gov/assessor

WHAT THE ASSESSOR DOES:

The Assessor values all property subject to taxation.
The Assessor is required by Nevada law to discover,
list and value all property within the County. The
property is assessed at 35% of its current appraised
value. In addition to the parcels of real property
(land, homes, commercial buildings), the Assessor
must value personal property consisting of
manufactured homes, aircraft, businesses, and any
other personal property which is taxable. The
Assessor collects personal property taxes, acting
as the tax receiver for the County.

WHAT THE ASSESSOR
DOES NOT DO:

The Assessor does not make the laws which affect
property owners. The tax laws are made by the
Nevada Legislature. The tax rates and guidelines
for assessment are set by the Nevada Department
of Taxation. Taxesareal propertyare collected by
the elected County Treasurer. The Assessor does not
determine taxes.

WHAT IS TAXABLE VALUE?

Taxable value is the value of property as determined
by the Assessor using methods prescribed by Nevada
Revised Statutes and Department of Taxation
regulations. Generally speaking, taxable value of real
property is the market value of the land and the
current replacement cost of any existing
improvements, less statutory depreciation.

HOW DOES THE ASSESSOR
DETERMINE TAXABLE VALUE?

The appropriate method under current law is that of
replacement cost. Using this method, the Assessor
must calculate the amount and cost of materials and
labor it would take to replace the subject property. A
depreciation factor of 1.5% per year is applied to
the effective age of the property, up to a maximum
of 50 years. Land values are derived from market
sales or other recognized appraisal methods and are
added to improvement values. Property values are
updated every year.
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HOW ARE TAXES DETERMINED?

The Nevada State Legislature has passed a law to
provide property tax relief to all citizens. NRS
361.4723 provides a partial abatement of taxes by
applying a 3% cap on the tax bill of the owner’s
primary residence (single-family house, townhouse,
condominium or manufactured home). Only one
property may be selected in the State of Nevada as a
primary residence. Some rental dwellings that meet
the low-income rent limits may also qualify for a
3% cap on the tax bill.

A cap of up to 8% on the tax bill will be applied to
residences that are not owner occupied. The up to
8% cap would also apply to land, commercial
buildings, business personal property, aircraft, etc.
New construction or property that has a change of
use (zoning change or manufactured home
conversion) will not qualify for any cap the first fiscal
year but will receive the 3% or up to an 8% cap
starting the next fiscal year.

The cap will not be applied if your taxes as assessed
are lower than the capped tax amount.

WHY DOES MY VALUE GO UP
WHEN MY PROPERTY HASN’T
CHANGED?

The Assessor is required by Nevada law to assess all
property every year. The Assessor is required by law
to assess all real property at current value which is
represented by the replacement cost of the
improvement less depreciation, and market value of
the land. Nevada Administrative Code requires the
Nevada Assessors to use Marshall & Swift Building
Cost Service to determine improvement replacement
costs, minus depreciation. The land is then appraised
at market value. Marshall & Swift costs are updated
each year to reflect current building costs.

WHAT IF YOU DISAGREE WITH
THE VALUE THE ASSESSOR
PLACES ON YOUR PROPERTY?

If, inyour opinion, the taxable value of your property
exceeds the value indicated in the real estate market,
please call or come in to the Assessor’s Office and
discuss your appraisal with an appraiser. The
Assessor welcomes the opportunity to review any
evidence you can provide that will show the
valuation exceeds market value.

If, after discussing the matter with the Assessor’s
staff, a difference of opinion still exists, you may
appeal your assessment to the County Board of
Equalization. You may obtain the forms from the
Assessor’s Office during the month of December
and until the deadline for filing, which is January 15
unless it falls on a holiday or weekend, which would
make the deadline the next business day. Please call
(702) 455-4997 to have an appeal form mailed to
you.

If the County Board, after hearing your petition, still
agrees with the Assessor’s appraisal, you may appeal
the County Board’s decision to the State Board of
Equalization. If the State Board also agrees with the
Assessor’s Office and you still disagree, you may
take your appeal to District Court.

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS:

The Nevada Legislature provides for property tax
exemptions to individuals meeting certain
requirements. Some of these include veterans,
disabled veterans, surviving spouses, blind persons,
church and fraternal organizations. These programs
are administered by the Assessor’s Office. If you
have any questions please call our Customer
Service representatives at (702) 455-3882.

TERMS AND DEFINITIONS YOU
SHOULD KNOW:

Assessor: The elected official whose legal
responsibility is to discover, value and list all
property in her jurisdiction.

Assessment: The valuation of property for tax
purposes.

Assessed Value Ratio: 35% of the current taxable
value.

Assessment Roll or “Reoll”: A listing of all
properties and their assessed values.
Improvements: All buildings, structures, pools,
fences, etc., affixed to the land.

Parcel Number: A unique numeric identifier used to
inventory and geographically locate each and every
parcel in Clark County.

Personal Property: All property not defined as real
property (manufactured homes, businesses, and
airplanes to name a few.)

Real Estate: Land and improvements to the land.
Real Property: Possession, claim to, or
ownership of real estate.

Secured Property: Property on which the taxes are a
lien against the real estate.

Unsecured Property: Property onwhichtheliendoes
not normally attach to the real estate.

Special Assessments: Direct charges which are
against the property but not included in the
Assessor’s valuation.

Supplemental Value/Tax: Value given to new
construction completed after the December Secured
Roll Close. Supplemental value is billed by the
Treasurer, identified as “New Construction Supp”.
Tax Abatement: A 3% or up to an 8% cap on the
property tax increase over the previous year’s tax
bill. Tax Base: Total assessed value in a given tax
district. Tax Rate: Rate in dollars, which when
applied to each $100 of assessed value, will give the
tax amount. Rates vary from one district to another
depending on the tax base and the services to the
people.

Tax Year or Fiscal Year: Most governments operate
on a fiscal basis. Nevada’s fiscal year begins July 1
of each year and ends on June 30 of the following
calendar year. Taxes are paid in advance.

Taxable Value: Generally speaking, taxable value is
the market value of the land and the current
replacement cost of improvements less depreciation
as determined by the Assessor.

IMPORTANT DATES
FOR PROPERTY OWNERS:

July 1: Business personal property declaration
filing postcards are mailed.

July 1: New fiscal year begins.

July 1—June 15: Filing period for all veterans,
disabled veterans, surviving spouses, blind
exemptions to be applied to real property for the
upcoming fiscal year. Filing for exemptions on
personal property may be done on a year round
basis.

July 31: All business and airplane personal property
declarations should be submitted to the Assessor’s
Office by this date.

3rd Monday in August: Due date for IST
INSTALLMENT OF TAXES.

1st Monday in October: Due date for 2ND
INSTALLMENT OF TAXES.

December: Property Value Notice postcards mailed
to all real property owners. Tax Roll published
on the Assessor’s website.

1st Monday in January: Due date for 3RD
INSTALLMENT OF TAXES.

January 15: Deadline for filing petitions to appeal
property values to County Board of Equalization.

February: County Board of Equalization meets to
hear taxpayer appeals.

1st Monday in March: Due date for 4TH
INSTALLMENT OF TAXES.

April - October: State Board of Equalization meets.

June 1: Deadline for filing open space or agricultural
assessments.

July: Property tax bills mailed. These bills are
taxes on the property in advance for the fiscal year
commencing on July 1.
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