
MAIN OFFICE 
 

CLARK COUNTY ASSESSOR 
500 S. Grand Central Pkwy FL 2 

Las Vegas, NV 89155 
(702) 455-3882 

        
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. 

Monday through Thursday 
(Closed Friday) 

 

NORTHWEST OFFICE 
 

Doña Maria Plaza 
3211 N. Tenaya Way #118 

Las Vegas, NV 89129 
(702) 455-3882 

 
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
Monday through Thursday 

(Closed Friday) 
 

HENDERSON OFFICE 
 

Henderson City Hall 
240 S. Water St. FL 1 

Henderson, NV 89015 
(702) 455-3882 

 
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon 

1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
Monday through Thursday 

(Closed Friday) 
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Dial 711 
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NEVADA 
HOMESTEAD 

LAW 
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NEVADA HOMESTEAD LAW 
NRS Chapter 115 

Dear Homeowner, 

We hope this brief summary of the Nevada 
Homestead Law will be of assistance to you. If you 
need a Homestead Declaration Form, we will be 
happy to provide one for you. We are not permitted 
to assist in completing the legal document. However, 
since we maintain the property records in our office, a 
customer service associate will provide you with a 
copy of your property description. 

 
If  you  have  any  legal  questions  regarding  this 
document, please consult with an attorney. 

 
Sincerely, 

BRIANA JOHNSON 
Clark County Assessor 

 
WHAT ARE THE PROCEDURES 
FOR RECORDING A DECLARATION 
OF HOMESTEAD? 

1. Complete the Homestead Declaration Form.  
The form must be printed legibly in black ink. 
Text cannot extend beyond the one inch margins 
on all sides of the form. 

2. Sign in the presence of a Notary Public. 

3. Take the completed document to: 

Clark County Recorder 

 Main Office: 
500 S. Grand Central Pkwy FL 2 

 Las Vegas, NV 89155-1510 

Northwest Office: 
3211 N. Tenaya Way  #118 

Las Vegas, NV 89129 
 

Henderson Office: 
240 S. Water St. FL 1 

Henderson, NV 89015 

 
 
 

 
 
The completed document can also be mailed to the 
Recorder’s main office. The Recorder’s Office is 
unable to accept mailed documents for recording at 
the Northwest Office or Henderson Office. 

 
For information regarding recording fees, please 
contact the Recorder’s Office at (702) 455-4336, or 
visit their website at:  
 
www.ClarkCountyNV.gov/recorder 

 
WHAT DOES THE LAW PROTECT? 
When you record a Declaration of Homestead, 
Nevada law protects the equity in your home up to 
$605,000 from general creditor claims (unpaid 
medical bills, bankruptcy, charge card debts, 
business/personal loans, accidents), but would not 
preclude a seizure or forced sale of your residence 
from  general  creditors  if  your  equity  exceeds  the 
$605,000. A creditor may file suit and can record a 
judgment lien against any real property you own. 
Recording a Declaration of Homestead protects your 
principal residence up to the statutory maximum. For 
example, if the value of your home is $645,000 and 
you have a first mortgage of $485,000 plus a second 
mortgage of $10,000, the equity is $150,000. 

 
WHAT IS NOT PROTECTED? 
The Homestead Law does not protect you against 
debts secured by a mortgage or deed of trust, payment 
of taxes, IRS lien, mechanic’s lien, child support or 
alimony payments. 

 
 

THE HOMESTEAD LAW DOES NOT 
EXEMPT PROPERTY TAX 

http://www.clarkcountynv.gov/recorder
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