
  

 
 
 
HOW DOES THE TERM “ASSESSED 
VALUE” RELATE TOTAX DOLLARS? 

 
All property tax  exemptions  in  Nevada  are stated 
in “assessed value” amounts. The term “assessed 
value” approximates 35% of the taxable value of 
an item. The exemption amount will vary each year   
depending   on the Consumer Price Index and the 
tax rates throughout the County. Let’s assume an 
exemption after the adjusted CPI is 1,000 assessed 
value and the tax rate is $3.50 per hundred of 
assessed value. To determine the exemption value, 
multiply the 1,000 X the tax rate .035 = $35.00 

 
To calculate an exemption amount that is applied 
to the Governmental Service and Supplemental 
Governmental Service taxes for your motor vehicle, 
let’s assume our exemption is 1,000 assessed value 
after the adjusted CPI. We would multiply the 
1,000 x .05 = $50.00. This exemption amount would 
be deducted from the Governmental Service and 
Supplemental Governmental Service taxes. The 
amount you use may be less, depending on the 
age of the vehicle. 

 
CAN I DONATE MY VETERAN’S 
EXEMPTION TO THE NEVADA 
VETERANS’ HOME? 

 
Yes. The State Treasurer collects money for the 
Gift Account for Veterans’ Home in Southern 
Nevada. To donate your exemption to the Gift 
Account for the Veterans’ Home in Southern Nevada, 
you must pay the FULL tax amount and direct the 
Assessor’s Office to distribute the taxes from your 
exemption to the Gift Account for Veterans’ Home.  
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The Nevada Legislature provides for  property tax 
exemptions to individuals meeting certain 
requirements. 

 
WHERE CAN I APPLY FOR OR GET 
MORE INFORMATION ON THESE 
PROGRAMS? 

The benefits listed in this brochure are 
administered by your County Assessor. If you 
would like additional information, please call our 
Customer Service representatives at (702) 455-3882, 
visit one of the Assessor’s Office locations, or visit 
our website at www.ClarkCountyNV.gov/assessor. 

 
DO I HAVE TO COME INTO THE 
ASSESSOR’S OFFICE TO APPLY? 

You may visit one of our locations or fill out and sign 
an Assessor’s Exemption Application Form in front 
of a Notary Public and mail or email that application 
to the Assessor’s Office.  
The forms are available on the Assessor’s website at 
www.ClarkCountyNV.gov/assessor or we can mail 
or email you an application.  
 
The benefits and eligibility requirements of these 
exemptions are as follows: 

 
SURVIVING SPOUSE’S EXEMPTION 
(NRS 361.080) 

 
To apply for the Surviving Spouse’s 
Exemption: 

 
• You must be a bona fide resident of the State 

of Nevada and provide a copy of your valid 
Nevada Driver’s License or Nevada 
Identification Card. 

 
• Provide a copy of your spouse’s death 

certificate. 
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VETERAN’S EXEMPTION 
(NRS 361.090) 

 
The Veteran’s Exemption applies to Nevada 
residents who have served in the Armed Forces 
of the United States in any of the following 
branches: Army, Navy, Marines,  Air  Force, Coast 
Guard; the National Guard, or Reserves, while on 
active duty; Merchant Marine during time of war 
or national emergency. A veteran must have  
served  a  minimum of  90  continuous days of 
active duty of which  at  least  one  day was during 
one of the following periods: 

 
December 7, 1941 to December 31, 1946 

June 25, 1950 to May 7, 1975 
September 26, 1982 to December 1, 1987 
December 20, 1989 to January 31, 1990 

August 2, 1990 to April 11, 1991 
December 5, 1992 to March 31, 1994 

November 20, 1995 to December 20, 1996 
 

Also eligible are veterans who served on active 
duty in connection with carrying out the 
authorization granted to the President of the 
United States in  Public  Law  102-1,  or  served 
on active duty  in  connection  with  a  campaign 
or expedition  for  service in  which a  medal has 
been authorized by the United States. 

To apply for the Veteran’s Exemption: 
 

• You must be a bona fide resident of the State 
of Nevada and provide a copy of your valid 
Nevada Driver’s License or Nevada 
Identification Card. 

 
• Provide a copy of your DD214, honorable 

discharge paper, certificate of satisfactory 
service or separation documents (which indicate 
your date of entry and honorable discharge 
date). 

 
• You must provide a copy of  your  Leave and  

Earnings  Statement,   showing   Nevada as your  
home  of  record,  if  you  are  on active duty. 

 
To determine whether a person served in 
connection  with  Public  Law  102-1  as   it pertains 
to the Gulf War or Desert Storm, or in connection 
with a campaign or expedition for service in which 
a medal has been authorized by the United States, 
the Assessor’s Office needs ONE of the following 
documents in addition to the requirements listed 
above: 

 
• A DD214 showing the dates of service and 

indication of connection   to   Desert   Storm or 
a campaign or expedition such as an 
authorized Medal. 

 
• Orders  or  commendations  from   your records 

that  specifically  indicate  your duties  were  
performed  in  support  of  the Gulf War or a 
campaign or expedition. 

 
• A written statement from the military  that you 

performed duties to support the  Gulf War or 
a campaign or expedition. 

 
• An affidavit in the  form  of  a  written, signed  

letter  by  you  explaining   in   detail the 
assignments you  personally  performed in 
support of  the  Gulf  War  or  a  campaign or 
expedition. 

DISABLED VETERAN’S 
EXEMPTION (NRS 361.091) 

 
The Disabled Veteran’s Exemption  is  provided for 
veterans who have a permanent service-connected 
disability of at least 60%.  The amount of 
exemption is dependent upon the degree of 
disability incurred. The permanently disabled 
veteran with a 60% to 100% disability receives 
the exemption. 

 
To apply for the Disabled Veteran’s Exemption: 

 
• You must be a bona fide resident of the State 

of Nevada and provide a copy of your valid 
Nevada Driver’s License or Nevada 
Identification Card. 

 
• Provide a copy of your DD214, honorable 

discharge paper, certificate of satisfactory 
service or separation documents (which 
indicate your date of entry and honorable 
discharge date). 

 
• Provide documentation from the Veteran’s 

Administration or from  the  Armed  Forces 
of the United States showing the percentage 
of permanent service-connected disability. 

 
The benefits of this program  may  succeed  to the 
surviving spouse of the disabled  veteran who 
was eligible for the exemption at the time of 
death. 

 
BLIND EXEMPTION (NRS 361.085) 

 
The Blind Exemption is available to residents 
whose visual acuity  with correcting  lenses  does 
not exceed 20/200 in the better eye, or whose vision 
in the better eye is restricted to a field which 
subtends an angle of not greater than 20 degrees.

To apply for the Blind Exemption: 
 

• You must be a bona fide resident of the State 
of Nevada and provide a copy of your valid 
Nevada Driver’s License or Nevada 
Identification Card. 

 
• Furnish a certificate from a licensed physician, 

stating that you meet the visual acuity 
qualifications. 

 
HOW DO I USE MY EXEMPTION? 

 
The exemption amount may be applied to next 
year’s tax bill on real property you own. This 
amount will be reflected on your property tax bill 
mailed in July of each fiscal year.  It may also be 
applied to any personal property (which includes 
business personal property, aircraft or manufactured 
housing) at any time during the year, prior to 
payment of taxes. 

 
As an option, you may choose to apply the exemption 
toward your Governmental Service and 
Supplemental Governmental Service Taxes when 
you register your vehicle with the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV). You may utilize this 
benefit by using your exemption identification 
number when registering on the DMV’s online 

registration website, at a DMV Kiosk, in person at 
the DMV or by mail.  

 
AFTER THE INITIAL APPLICATION, 
HOW MAY I CONTINUE MY 
EXEMPTION? 

 
After filing the original affidavit, the County 
Assessor will mail or email you an Exemption 
Renewal Post Card each year. You may renew 
online if an access code is printed on your renewal 
post card. If you do not have an access code, simply 
sign and return the post card to the Assessor’s 

Office. If renewing online, you DO NOT need to 
return the post card. 
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