What are the Constable's Office hours of operation?
We are open Monday - Thursday 7:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.
What does a Constable do?
A Constable works in conjunction with the Justice Court. Please call 702-346-5298 for seperate Justice Court fees (if any). He serves all civil documents required for court use and processing and eviction notices. The Constable's office is responsible for garnishing of wages and bank accounts. The Constable does each service for a fee, mandated by Nevada Revised Statutes. Please call 702-346-8758 to obtain service fees for the Constable. All fees are due prior to service (some exceptions apply).
Is a Constable a Police Officer?
No. The Constable is an elected peace officer for civil processes. He does not officiate in criminal matters. However, the duties of a Constable may be found in NRS 258.070. You may access this and other Nevada Revised Statutes by visting the State of Nevada website link available on our main page.
Where can I get the forms for an eviction and other forms the Constable serves?
You can find most on the forms on the Forms tab to the left. If there is a form you need and don't see, please call the Constable's office at 702-346-8758. Please note that a Deputy Service Worksheet is required to be filled out for each serve except for 3 & 5 day Notices which have an Application for Notice that needs to be filled out, and they can be found on the Forms tab to the left also.
How do I know which days count on an eviction?
The day of service does not count. Only the next 5 Justice Court business days count. Example: Notice is posted on Monday. Days are counted as such: Tuesday (1), Wednesday (2), Thursday (3), the following Monday (4) and Tuesday (5). You have until the close of business on the 5th Judicial day to come to restitution with your landlord or vacate.
What happens if the tenant will not vacate?
Forms can be filed with the Mesquite Justice Court (for a fee), along with a service copy of the previous eviction notice and a copy of your lease, no earlier than the close of business on the 5th judicial day. The MJC will review your request and produce a 24-hour lock-out notice to be served by the Constable (for a fee), where the locks will be changed and the tenants escorted off of the property. There may be an additional fee for the locksmith.
I have a judgment issued by court. How do I garnish someone?
The garnishment forms are located on our Forms tab. Please follow instructions and call if questions arise. All garnishment forms must be filed with the Justice Court that the judgment originates from.
I have a garnishment/judgment out of state. How can I collect if the defendant works in Mesquite?
You must go through the Las Vegas District Court and file what's called a "Foreign Judgment." There phone number is (702) 671-4528. Once the foreign judgment is established, garnishment forms can be filled out and sent to our office for service.