Murder Case Information

Information on Types of Murder Cases

  • Murder is defined by Nevada Revised Statutes 200.010 and the Statutes that follow. An "open murder" information or indictment charges Murder in the First Degree and all necessarily included offenses. These would include Murder in the Second Degree and possibly Voluntary Manslaughter and Involuntary Manslaughter based upon the specific facts of the case.
  • Nevada also allows for a conviction of Murder under a "felony murder" theory. Under such a theory if a death occurs during the commission of a felony, even if unintentional, it may be prosecuted as a murder.
  • Defenses to Murder charges, as with any criminal charge, are case specific. A person charged with murder should candidly work with their attorney to determine what defense(s) would be available in their case.
  • Nevada is a death penalty state. If the Death penalty is not sought, penalties for First degree murder in Nevada are either (1) life without the possibility of parole; (2) life with the eligibility of parole after 20 years have been served ; or (3) a definite term of 50 years with eligibility for parole after 20 years have been served. Penalties for Second degree murder are either (1) life with the eligibility for parole after 10 years; or (2) a definite term of 25 years with the eligibility for parole after 10 years have been served.
Helpful Links