County Accepting Applications for Library Board

Clark County is currently accepting applications from residents interested in serving on the Las Vegas-Clark County Library District Board of Trustees.

The County will be filling three positions on the board as current board members’ terms are expiring.

Applicants must reside within the library district, which includes the cities of Las Vegas and Mesquite, and the unincorporated areas of the County.

The application is available online at and must be submitted to the County by 5 p.m. Feb. 17.

The County Commission is expected to appoint the new board members on March 2.

The library board is comprised of 10 members, five of whom are appointed by the County Commission plus five appointed by the Las Vegas City Council. Board members are appointed to four-year terms and are limited to serving two consecutive terms.

Two of the County-appointed board members whose terms are expiring may apply again. The third board member whose term is expiring has already served two terms.

The library board oversees the Library District including its 25 branches and collection of 3.1 million items consisting of books, movies, music (including streaming and downloadable), and online resources; and appoints the Library District’s executive director.

Anyone with questions about the application process may email


Clark County is a dynamic and innovative organization dedicated to providing top-quality service with integrity, respect and accountability.  With jurisdiction over the world-famous Las Vegas Strip and covering an area the size of New Jersey, Clark is the nation’s 11th-largest county and provides extensive regional services to 2.3 million citizens and 45.6 million visitors a year (2019). Included are the nation’s 9th-busiest airport, air quality compliance, social services and the state’s largest public hospital, University Medical Center. The County also provides municipal services that are traditionally provided by cities to 1 million residents in the unincorporated area. Those include fire protection, roads and other public works, parks and recreation, and planning and development.