Vaccine Information

Valley wide clinics and pharmacies are offering vaccination appointments.  Visit the SNHD website  or for more information on vaccination locations in Clark County. Vaccination is recommended for ages 12 and older.  Vaccine FACTS are listed below.
Station 18 Wednesday COVID shot clinics Flyer_MOD

Cultural and Multi-lingual COVID-19 Vaccine Information

Where can I find information in Spanish?
Visit Esta En Tus Manos at or the Southern Nevada Health District Website which offers a translator tool on its home page that will give you information in your native language. Just visit

COVID-19 Vaccine Locations
Casa Del Inmigrante, 2900 Stewart Ave. 
The COVID-19 vaccine will be offered at Casa Del Inmigrante beginning Thursday, Feb. 25, while supplies last.  People 65 and older and frontline workers are currently eligible to get the vaccine. To make an appointment, call (833) 886-0023. For assistance with scheduling an appointment in Spanish, call between 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.

No insurance is needed to receive a vaccine shot. The Pfizer vaccine is administered in two parts. Those who receive Part 1 of the vaccine will be scheduled for their second appointment to get the follow up shot at the time of the first appointment. See more on who is eligible for vaccination and other locations where you can make an appointment to get the vaccine by visiting the Southern Nevada Health District website.

Where can I find Back to Life Awareness Campaign information?

General COVID-19 Vaccine Information

What does the CDC say about restrictions for those fully vaccinated?
  • If you are fully vaccinated, you can resume activities that you did prior to the pandemic.
  • Fully vaccinated people can resume activities without wearing a mask or physically distancing, except where required by federal, state, local, tribal, or territorial laws, rules, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance.
  • If you haven’t been vaccinated yet,  find a vaccine.
See more from the CDC
What is the difference between the vaccines?
The Pfizer and Moderna vaccines are currently available to Southern Nevadans wanting to get vaccinated. Vaccination is recommended for persons 12 and older at this time as follows:
Ages 12 to 15: Pfizer
Ages 16 to 18: Pfizer
Ages 18 and older:  Moderna, Pfizer or Johnson & Johnson "Janssen"

Moderna and Pfizer vaccination is a two-part process requiring an initial shot and a second shot administered weeks later but within a required time period.  For those who receive Pfizer, the second shot is administered 21 days later; for those receiving Moderna, the second shot is administered 28 days later.

The Moderna and Pfizer vaccines use Messenger RNA or MRNA technology that delivers a sample of a genetic code to cells.  It works to make a surface protein on the SARS -2 virus. the proteins made with the MRNA instructions activate the immune system, teaching it to see the surface protein as foreign and develop antibodies and other immune system fighting weapons to prevent COVID.

The two vaccines are considered equally effective and Nevadans are encouraged to take which ever vaccine is offered.

The Johnson & Johnson vaccine, referred to as the Janssen vaccine, is again  a vaccination option after national health care administrators re-evaluated its use and reported side effects, determining it to be safe for use. The Janssen vaccine requires only one shot. The vaccine developed by Johnson & Johnson takes an approach that is designed to instruct human cells to make the SARS-2 protein which then triggers an immune response.

Learn more about these vaccines by visiting the CDC website.
Where can I get the COVID-19 vaccine?
If I have had a first shot, how do I schedule the second shot?
Location & Hours 
Las Vegas Convention Center
3150 Paradise Road in the C-1 area of the facility’s Central Hall
Tuesday - Saturday

Cashman Center - Hall B
850 Las Vegas Blvd. North
Tuesday -  Saturday

Southern Nevada Health District
280 S. Decatur Blvd.
Monday - Friday

College of Southern Nevada
3200 E. Cheyenne Ave.
Tuesday - Friday
See more locations

More Information:
People who were vaccinated at a Health District or partner COVID-19 site are eligible for their second shot and will be notified to schedule an appointment for their second dose.  NOTE: Notifications are being mailed to persons who received the first vaccine shot. Once notified, visit the Health District website to answer a series of questions about your eligibility to schedule an appointment for the second shot.
To get started, visit this link:

SNHD Vaccine Call Help Center
  • The Southern Nevada Health District help line is staffed during business hours, Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  For help or to get questions answered related to a second-dose appointment, call (702) 759-1900.
State of Nevada Vaccine Call Help Center:  
  • The state's vaccination call center is open to answer questions and assist those who may need help making an appointment. Calls are being taken seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at (800) 401-0946.

Convention Center: Dedicated parking is available in the Silver Lot off Paradise Road and Convention Center Drive. 

It is recommended that the second dose of vaccine should be administered as close to the 21- and 28-day intervals as possible. However, based on current guidance, second doses of both the Pfizer and Moderna vaccines can be administered up to six weeks after the first dose. The vaccines are not interchangeable. If people who are not eligible to receive their second dose make appointments at the Convention Center site, (e.g., it is too soon, they have not received their first dose, they were vaccinated by another health care provider) they will not receive the vaccine.

Additional CDC Information 
Additional information about new COVID-19 vaccine is available on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website at More information about COVID-19, including case updates, vaccination clinics, and available resources is available on the Health District website at

How do I schedule a ride to a vaccine appointment?
The Regional Transportation Commission (RTC) can help get you there. They offer convenient public transit service to COVID-19 vaccination sites offered through the Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD). Visit the RTC coronavirus resource page for the latest updates.

A list of current SNHD locations with their closest RTC route(s) can be found on the RTC’s coronavirus resource page. Use the rideRTC app to view maps, routes, arrival times and pay for your contactless fixed route trip. You can even see the real-time passenger capacity of your bus on the Transit app.

If I am homebound, how can I get help to get vaccinated?
People age 18+ who are homebound, including those who need medical equipment to leave their home or are bedridden, can call (702) 455-0696 or email to schedule services.
Learn more about the COVID-19 vaccine distribution plan for Nevada.
Visit the website to track vaccine availability, activity and access across the state of Nevada.
If I am privately insured, how do I get the vaccine?

Earlier this year, the DOI passed both an emergency and permanent regulations to ensure there would be no out-of-pocket costs to Nevadans’ covered by health insurance for COVID-19 testing and vaccinations. 

This means consumers who have coverage with individual health plans, small group plans, large group plans, and catastrophic plans will be covered to receive the COVID-19 vaccine without any co-payment, co-insurance, or other form of cost-sharing, including the cost of administering the vaccine. Nevadans who are insured by entities not regulated by DOI may still be covered to receive the vaccine by federal law.  

Consumers who are unsure what type of health plan they have are encouraged to contact their employer or health insurance company first. For other questions regarding health insurance coverage, contact DOI’s Consumer Services via email at or call 888-872-3234. 

If I am insured through Nevada Health Link, how do I get the vaccine?

The vaccine is free for the (insert number of) Nevadans insured through Nevada Health Link plans. Nevada Health Link is the only place Nevadans can qualify for subsidies to help offset the costs of monthly premiums, and four out of five Nevadans who purchase a plan on Nevada Health Link qualify for financial assistance (tax credits). All plans offered through the Exchange cover the 10 “essential health benefits,” including pre-existing conditions and all COVID-19-related diagnosis and treatment. Consumers must enroll in a plan by Dec. 31, 2020, to have health coverage effective on Jan. 1, 2021. Anyone who enrolls between Jan. 1 and Jan. 15 will have coverage effective on Feb. 1, 2021. For more information go to or call 800-547-2927.  

I  have Medicaid, how do I get the vaccine?
Nevada Medicaid covers all vaccines that are recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) as a preventative services benefit; this includes the COVID-19 vaccine. All Nevada Medicaid recipients will have COVID-19 vaccine coverage. The vaccine will be provided at no cost to recipients who are eligible or enrolled in Fee-for-Service or Managed Care. Nevada Medicaid also covers COVID-19 testing and medically necessary treatment.  To apply for Nevada Medicaid, go to 

If you have Medicaid, you can schedule transportation to and from a vaccine or COVID testing appointment. Learn how.

Nevada Medicaid is offering Medicaid recipients a flexible same-day transportation service with a variety of options including gas mileage reimbursement, bank card funding to take the bus, and, in most instances, same-day rides from ride services. Information is available in English and Spanish at under Appointment Resources or by calling 1-844-879-7341.

Here are the steps to follow to plan ahead:

  • Step one: Check daily to find out when and where vaccines may be available in your county and schedule an appointment.
  • Step two: Plan transportation. The flyer available here describes who is eligible for transportation through Medicaid and how to schedule.
  • Step three: Get the vaccine and continue social distancing, frequent hand washing and mask-wearing.
  • Step four: Plan transportation for the second dose of the vaccine.

 It is always Open Enrollment for Nevada Medicaid. Apply at Non-citizens and the uninsured can receive COVID-19 services through federally qualified health centers:

I am uninsured, can I get the vaccine?

Nevadans who do not have health insurance can go to to see if they qualify and find free local assistance from a certified broker or navigator. Nevada Health Link applications include review for coverage by Medicaid and many other providers. The uninsured may also seek the assistance of a Federally Qualified Health Center. 

Additionally, note that it is always Open Enrollment for Nevada Medicaid. Apply at Non-citizens and the uninsured can receive COVID-19 services through federally qualified health centers:

According to Nevada Regulation 054-20, all health insurers are prohibited from imposing cost-sharing or medical management techniques to restrict access to COVID-19 screening, testing, or vaccines.  People who are insured and are charged for COVID-related services should report the case to the Nevada Insurance Commissioner and the case may be referred for investigation. Patients can file a complaint at 

Where can I get updates or general information on Nevada's COVID-19 response efforts?
More information on Nevada’s COVID-19 response can be found
at and on the  County's COVID-19 website .